BOOK REVIEW: BATMAN’S GUIDE TO LIFE: BREAKING MYTHS SINCE 1994 BY CHETAN SONI

41442182 (1)Publication Date: August 8th 2018
Publisher: Half Baked Beans
Pages: 91, Kindle Edition
LinksGoodreads | Amazon India
Stars: 4/5
Source: Review Copy

Blurb: I have spent 14 years meditating, levitating and constipating. During this time, I happened to cross a tunnel and kept on thinking while crawling my way out that “will there be light at the end of the tunnel?” Indeed there was. 
As I came out and dropped on my knees with my hands raised in air I heard a whisper, “What do you seek?” and the first words which came out of my mouth were “Sarcasm O’ Dear Lord.”


“Girls who keep on waiting for Superman do not realize that they pass across Clark Kent every day.”


Growing up, Batman has always influenced my life in a major way and the life lessons the character has taught me are endless. The dark knight’s inexorable demeanour relentlessly proves that he is the best superhero and is irreplaceable. His ultimate superpower is having no superpowers at all and he sure as hell compensates for it with the unassailable and rigorous training. He is inarguably the epitome of “cool” both as the playboy Bruce Wayne and his fearsome alter-ego.

Honestly, when I got a hold of this book, I was baffled. I skimmed it for more and that was it. Kindle shows me 700 pages due to the font size but I was in for a treat. This is probably the shortest book I’ve ever reviewed. Anyhow, the author’s magnetic hook was the ingenious title, he had me at Batman! (Side-note: I began binge-ing the Batman animated movies, non-stop, all thanks to the book.)

Ninety per cent of the book comprises of life quotes and a quirky short-short romantic story of Kabir and Sonia for the grand finale. The satirical take-down of our society and the narcissism that runs deep in the veins of today’s youth is a prevalent note in the book. There’s no tardiness in the language and the content is a breath of fresh air. The fast pace of this book affixes your attention to it and the message truly makes one cogitate.

Pick this one if you’re looking for a speedy read in one sitting. It’s a guaranteed fun read and food for the soul. Some of my favorite quotes from the book that stuck with me,

Fail big. You only live once.

There are two kinds of married men in India, one who gets a car, others get a washing machine.

Whether you are Jon Snow or Theon Greyjoy, you have to fight your own battles.

Chill, the more failures you have the longer your Ted Talk will be.

Write letters. To somebody, you know. Don’t post them. Preserve them in a cool dry place away from the reach of children. Take them out after 20 years. Read them again. Slowly. Drinking the nectar of those words basking in the sun. Compare your relationship with the person at that time. You will see that the person you loved once is now a douche bag. Be proud of the choice you made by not posting the letter. Smile. Go back to sleep.


Notes:

  • I was given a copy of the book by VInfluencers for an honest and unbiased review.
  • The blurb is borrowed from Goodreads.

 

Leave a comment