Zest for Life – #DearZindagi

 ‘A tree without roots is just a piece of wood.’ – Marco Pierre White

 Dear Zindagi,

My old friend, a comrade in arms and partner in crime, I finally get a chance to address this special letter to you. What a journey it has been! Twenty-three years and counting, there is still so much work to be done. The real enemy is time, though, ever so ready to snatch the treasured moments from right under my nose. But you were the true master, perpetually bestowing zen lessons through every encounter. You permitted my emotions to be ensnared and tampered with, just to enlighten me of the possible threats in the future. I believe I am in a phase of acceptance and understanding (not entirely though). There was always a reason, a motive or a valuable moral behind all those incidents which passed me by. Only I was too foolish and arrogant to see or affirm the truth.

There is a thought that echoes through my head, through intense pain comes power. Pain is an ally and a foe, it makes you do the inconceivable. Zindagi, you have given me more pain than pleasure and yet I stand sewn together in one piece. You have taught me that nothing comes without a price and that beautifies the experiences. I have asked myself numerous times, what am I willing to pay to put a smile on the faces of the ones I love. The answer is – pain, sadly.

Eons of searching

has led to this moment

I live and breathe

with a shred of happiness

impermanent,

flawed,

wedging a fire into my blood

let me run

and feel

life

so, beautiful,

yet catastrophic.

The morose events are not all that you are made of, Zindagi. I hope to God that it is not the inevitable end. Blissful memories do resurface now and then. Like the time when my first crush smiled at me and my heart palpitations enhanced tenfold or when my class won the Annual High-School Cook-Off by making prawn biriyani. It is the little things that matter, that makes you grin whenever you think about how daft you were. My past bosomed immeasurable recklessness, youthful relentlessness, and exuberant love affairs with celebrities, book characters, and random strangers (in my head). That was the kind of happiness I was exposed to, residing in my perfect bubble of oblivion.

The present, however, is a completely different scenario. Evidently, you know about my sole reason of existence, my eighteen-month-old daughter. I recall a powerful quote by one of the most hated characters on the show Game of Thrones – “The more people you love, the weaker you are. You’ll do things for them that you know you shouldn’t do. You’ll act the fool to make them happy, to keep them safe. Love no one but your children.”  There is so much depth in this quote, it depicts her true nature as a lioness (Of the House Lannister) and the fierceness of her love. Likewise, the love I have for my kid is unrestrained and pure. What more can I ask of you, Zindagi?

Thank you, for such understanding parents and a bratty little brother who never fails to disrupt my patience. I thank you for giving me an incredible husband, who would stand by me at any cost. The memories I have made with my beautiful family will be forever stagnant in my brain. The friends I have made in this short span called lifetime, ceaselessly love me from near and afar. I am glad to have you alongside me in this wild ride. Thank you, Zindagi.

 

Yours.

 

Check out the teaser of the movie – Dear Zindagi which stars the scintillating Shah Rukh Khan and youth icon Alia Bhatt. This tangy combination is all set to blow your mind and looks like a clear winner.

“I am writing a letter to life for the #DearZindagi activity at BlogAdda”.

Leave a Reply

