When hatred inspires – #madeofgreat

#madeofgreat, there is more to the phrase than the line-up of these unfathomable words. Greatness can be interpreted in many ways. Even a villain can be considered as great despite the evil that flows through his veins. What is its true equivalent? I don’t think anyone can narrow it down to just one definition.

I cannot seem to choose between the special people who’ve influenced my life from both the fictional world and reality. But there is this one person who instigated in giving birth to the writer in me. I don’t want to name this guy for obvious reasons because he is not really my favorite person in the world.

It all started in the month of Ramadan, I was invited to an Iftaar party at my grandmother’s place and so was he. Let’s just say that he might be pretty closely related to me. I was dedicatedly laying out the table with scrumptious treats that my beloved gran had cooked up, all the while controlling myself because of the fasting. And there he was, crossing his legs one on top of another, judging everyone. Maybe it was in my head, but I could not tell. He was amazing at what he did and that was what made him so cocky.

He was one of the most successful businessmen in Dubai and I was all too aware of his tendency to demean others. The man is a maniac when it comes to profit maximization. I have high regard for where his motivation comes from, his family. I know it is the most obvious scenario, but who doesn’t love their family despite the occasional war-zone situations. But mostly, I think it has to do with his childhood. He was provided with the grandest education and he mostly grasped English from watching the news and reading tons of books. We might have something in common after all.

It is a typical rags to riches case with him and it is easier said than done. He works his rear off for his three sons and his gorgeous, ever-youthful wife. This part of his life is what drives him, probably made him stronger and fierce. I know for a fact that he would stop at nothing to provide the crème de la crème of practically everything for his family. The glitch lies in his ‘iron-fist’ reign though; I guess everything has a price.

I stayed as far away from him as possible. Does that make me a coward? Yes, but I don’t care, because I don’t want to become his scapegoat in public! He loved to pick on me because I am a little over-weight and hence the dodging. The hatred was passionate, really, it shocked me that I could hate someone that much.

The interaction began when I started to borrow books from his wife’s personal library, not that I had a choice because she had an exquisite collection! It did not take a genius to connect the dots to figure out that I was a book geek. He knew that I was fanatic about books and I would even consider buttering up his wife, just to read; now that spoke volumes.
Let’s go back to that party where his exasperating presence irked me. I ran into his rock like chest when I was about to exit the room, unintentionally. He smiled his stupid smile and said, “I hear you have been hogging my wife’s library.”

“She is very kind to let me use it extensively. Thank you very much.” I replied, not looking at his face directly.
“Do you ever think about writing, though? Most ardent readers turn out to be excellent writers. I think you can work wonders with a pen.” He beamed at me and I responded with a gaping mouth and a pair protruding eyeballs.

The irony was in his words, really. His staggering confidence alarmed me. He made me believe that I could excel in writing. At first, I thought it was one of his snarky comments, but turns out it was genuine!

Now, why is this hated man suddenly #madeofgreat in my books? I’ll tell you why, because I owe him my life or at least a part of it. His words stoked the fire in me, made me who I am today. Not that I am an over-achieving writer or whatever, but his prodding worked! I found out who I really want to be or where I should cash in my chips for the future. Writing poetry, short-stories or blogging random rantings makes me happy and I am doing what I love, that has to account for something. I am still working towards perfecting my pieces, but hey, how do we measure the saturation of perfection?

#madeofgreat

This post is a part of the Tata Motors #madeofgreat contest in association with IndiBlogger : http://madeofgreat.tatamotors.com/

14 thoughts on “When hatred inspires – #madeofgreat

  1. jeydevi says:

    Here’s my answer for the legendary assioction between Tata Motors and Lionel Messie:

    Tata motors being the first Indian brand to associate itself with an international sports icon is truly being envied!. Yes! When two people with identical qualities merge, the brand power increases enormously. Just as expected Tata Motors is tasting it by the reach and vibrations it has created with its association with Lionel Messie.

    With both’s determination, dedication and power to conquer in their respective fields- their collaboration is surely a big hit and #madeofgreat indeed

    Liked by 1 person

  2. uk8971 says:

    The story of a Legend in himself – that’s how I will describe it in a short sentence. Very well written with words which enhance the simplicity yet greatness of the person. Salutations and very happy for you to have got inspired and bringing out your best in life.

    My answer: Tata is a name which any and every person can rely on for its honesty, commitment and perseverance. Lionel Messi is a legend who has carved his name in history books with total dedication to the game, simple living and improvisation which is seen with each game he plays. The association of Tata Motors and Lionel Messi as their Brand Ambassador will definitely give an edge to the Tata group over its competitors solely because the brand Ambassador also holds the same reputation of not letting his fans down ever, like Tata Motors who have given the best to the world over the decades. Its an exemplary association par excellence.

    You can choose my answer as the Voucher winning comment if you feel I described it all well.. 🙂 Please remember to post it on the Indiblogger contest page today as soon as you have 3 comments here..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Poonam (StirYourSouls) says:

    An unusual piece, which stood apart from the posts I’ve so far read from other participants, Aaliya. Good luck for the contest.

    As for the expression of views towards the question, I would like to answer through a stanza or two of verse:

    ‘What drives us from within is what makes us great’
    Belief in oneself, the zeal to put up a brave face,
    In the face of adversity, to stand strong against fate,
    That’s how life is – it’s an excellent goal to chase!

    To create a name for oneself, from the soil your feet dampen,
    To let critics enhance your effort, not let your spirits dampen,
    It’s the journey that counts, more than having scaled the peak,
    To persevere so that it’s your actions that have the loudest shriek!

    To sum up, I feel that this age-old adage rings true whenever I think of this beautiful alliance of an Indian Global Brand – Tata Motors and a Global Argentinian Sportsperson – Lionel Messi

    “Our Similarities bring us to a common ground; Our Differences allow us to be fascinated”

    That realization is truly #madeofgreat. 🙂

    If you decide to choose my comment, you could tweet to me @stiryoursouls and I’d be happy to communicate the credentials.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bhuwan says:

    Your post defines #madeofgreat in a awesome manner.Very well written and interesting post indeed.
    My Answer
    Tata Motors is a brand that makes durable vehicles, with its MADE IN INDIA mark makes every Indian proud. It is a brand seen globally as Trusted, Reliable, Innovative and at the forefront of technology. In its journey since inception it has overcome all odds, competition, and adversities with grit and determination. These same qualities are associated with Lionel Messi who was very talented and hardworking from a very early age. With each game that he played he kept improving his skills and built a career to become one of the best player of professional football. There qualities make both TATA Motors and Lionel Messi giants who perfectly compliment each other and Lionel Messi the right and perfect Ambassador who stands for the same values that TATA Motors does.
    bhuwan198grover@gmail.com

    Like

  5. yagnesh joshi says:

    Hi Aaliya
    Yours is a very well written post your .Its is a very nice description of #madeofgreat
    TATA Motors is a brand associated with performance, endurance and excellence. These words are also synonymous with Lionel Messi who plays as a forward and weaves his magic on the football field.Just as Lionel Messi is considered the best footballer in the world ,TATA motors which is Indias premier automotive manufacturer gives wheels to the people of India with its wide range of vehicles. Both believe in excelling in whatever they do and set examples for others to follow. They compliment each other as both are reliable trustworthy and leaders thus Lionel Messi is the natural choice as the brand ambassador of TATA Motors
    yagneshbjoshi10099@gmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

