The Monster

Image

 

She stares at me

From a million shards,

Of my silver mirror,

Shattered around my feet,

The crimson floor blares.

 

A monster, craving

yearning for me,

She is me

And I am her.

 

She wants to consume me

In her mordant dreams,

Mystical traps,

And eat my soul,

 

She is me

And I am her.

Rabid, baiting and

Conniving,

She stirs malign desires,

 

I cannot tear her from me

She feeds on my joys,

A monster.

She is me 

And I am her.

 

– Inspired by the Joker’s famous quote, “We stopped checking for monsters under our bed once we realized they were inside us.”

Leave a Reply

